Correction

26 Jun

Okay! So I know people won’t check the essays I had written previously as samples while preparing for IELTS examination but still I wanted to correct the mistakes I had made there. Well I had not taken preparation classes in an institute so I had almost no practice for writing and speaking. Sure I used to look in the mirror and speak in the allocated time, write essays and such but who could evaluate that? This is not an excuse for my horribly-wrong writing style, but I just wanted to explain it. The opening line of my essays is incorrect (really shows how well prepared I was while writing these, right?). I have copied the essay topics as they were. Never, and I mean NEVER do this. You can paraphrase it, twist it around, or do anything but don’t copy it down. This may even result in loosing marks.

Another thing is about diagram explanations. I haven’t written them here but I wanted to say something about them as well. You are given a diagram of some sort, it maybe a chart or a process diagram and you need to explain it. There is word limit mentioned. And while you get penalized for writing in less words, writing more than mentioned won’t cost you marks(as the rules suggest). Nevertheless, over-lengthy writing is also not that appreciated so you have to try your best to manage it in the given word count. While comparing diagrams, remember to use words and phrases such as doubled, five times as that in, soared high, peaked in, plummeted, rose dramatically, declined steadily rather than using rose and fell. And, also don’t waste your time comparing each and every detail; take some time to understand the diagram and pick out only the MAJOR points. These tips will be mentioned in the books as well.

The last thing, for the second task, you need to be careful while selecting the phrases. Instead of writing “obviously”, you can write “there is not a shadow of doubt over the fact that”. You can use “there is a school of thought that”, “it has been said for years that” and phrases like that. While starting, it might be helpful to say “some people think that….while others argue…” or “the matter of….is among the many that have attracted a lot of attention and caused debate over the years”. There are others like these as well. I just mean that instead of writing it plainly, you need to give it a bit literary touch but not just by using big words and all. You don’t need to make it complex, but replace some common words and stuff so that they sound better while reading. And, don’t start your first paragraph with “first and foremost” and second by “secondly” as I have done. Use the phrases in their place; it certainly enhances the quality.

I am no expert in this matter and I don’t have that great score in writing to show. But, these tips really helped me a lot and I just wanted to share them.

6 Responses to “Correction”

  1. Sujin June 27, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    la aba timi IELTS instructor bane pani huncha 🙂

    • surockshya June 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      aba tyehi bchar gardai chu ma pani, aru kaam kehi paiyena baru euta institute kholera basnu parla jasto cha :D…padhauna ni ramailo hune hola…

  2. Kaushal Shrestha (@k4kaushal) June 28, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Thanks so much! aba euta sample essay pani post garnuhun6 hola ni?

    • surockshya June 28, 2012 at 10:23 am #

      my pleasure :)…exam sakisakeko vayera aba lekhchu ki nai chai not sure essay!!!n also tyesto ramro thyena ni ta mero writing, aafulai hera ali too simple types lagne…bt mero IELTS ko nai question ko chai lekhera post garchu ni ta la…

      • Kaushal Shrestha (@k4kaushal) June 28, 2012 at 11:02 am #

        simple is the new cool ni!

      • surockshya June 28, 2012 at 11:15 am #

        tyo ta ho, dherai complex lekhnu hudaina, simple nai ramro huncha bt too simple lagne k aafno ta, hehe…

Leave a Reply

